Chief minister N Biren inducts 12 parliamentary secretaries

Chief minister N Biren inducts 12 parliamentary secretaries

March 24
07:04 2017

IMPHAL | Mar 23

Three BJP MLAs, V Hangkhalian, Nemcha Kipgen and Th Radhesyam were sworn in as cabinet ministers today by the Governor Najma Heptullah at Raj Bhavan.

This completes the cabinet of the new BJP led alliance. Another twelve parliamentary secretaries were also sworn in by the Chief Minister at his secretariat this evening.

V Hangkhalian from Churachandpur assembly constituency defeated former Congress minister Pungzathang Tonsing.

Similarly, former policeman Th Radhesyam ousted minister Moirangthem Oken at Heirok constituency.

Former Congress MLA, Nemcha Kipgen from Kangpokpi got elected from BJP ticket in her second term of office. She is the lone woman candidate in the BJP alliance.

The swearing in ceremony at Raj Bhavan saw many political leaders including opposition leader Okram Ibobi Singh. However, many BJP MLAs were conspicously absent at the ceremony. Other then former CM Okram Ibobi, there were no Congress MLAs present.

Later in the evening, Chief Minister N Biren swore in twelve parliamentary secretaries at the CM secretariat today.

The Okram Ibobi government had seven parliamentary secretaries.

Among them, L Sushindro from Khurai constituency , Soibam Subhaschandra from Naoriya Pakhanglakpa constituency, Lourembam Rameshwor from Keirao constituency, Indrajit Nahakpam from Kshetrigao, Kongkham Robindro from Mayangimphal, Thokchom Satyabrata from Yaiskul constituency, Heikham Dingo from Sekmai constituency and Dr Sapam Ranjan from Konthoujam constituency all of BJP.

Khasim Vasum from Chingai constituency, K Leishiyo from Phungyar and Awangbou Newmai from Tamei constituency from the NPF were sworn in. The lone independent candidate from Jiribam, Ashab Uddin was also awarded a parliamentary secretary post. Dr Y Radheshyam of Hiyanglam is awarded chairman of MANIDCO.

Nine parliamentary secretaries were given to the valley and three to the hill districts.

T Robindro, elected on AITC ticket from Thanga constituency was given the post of chairman of Planning and Development Authority (PDA).

Deputy Chief Minister Y. Joykumar Singh, cabinet ministers, ruling MLAs, Chief Secretary O. Nabakishore Singh, NPP National President Conrad Sangma, Finance Minister of Assam, Himanta Biswa Sarma, Arunachal Pradesh CM Pema Khandu and BJP Manipur Pradesh President, Ksh. Bhabananda Singh attended the swearing in ceremony of the Parliamentary Secretaries at CM Secretariat.


About Author



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of

Subscribe to Longshim

Enter your email address to subscribe to Longshim and receive notifications of new posts by email.